Hercules Wimbledon Athletic Club's teenage sprinter Rechmiel Miller boosted his medal hopes in the Surrey track & field championships later this month by smashing the club's men's U17 200m record at Tooting Bec on Sunday.

Miller clocked 22.04 seconds in finishing second to erase the long-standing club record of 22.1secs set by Malcolm Fitter in 1976.

The 15-year-old improved on his previous best of 22.58secs set at an open meeting at Lee Valley last month when he broke the 23-second barrier for the first time - his best time before the start of this season was 23.31.

Miller also posted a personal best 100m time at Tooting on Sunday when he won his race in 10.83secs, with the benefit of a sizeable 2.8m per second following wind.

It improved on his previous best of 10.98secs, also with a strong following wind, at Lee Valley in July last year. His best legal time is 11.01secs also set at Lee Valley last season.

Miller had a busy weekend as, on Saturday, he helped Hercules Wimbledon to a close runners-up spot in their opening Soleus Southern Men's League Division One match at Wimbledon Park.

There, Miller was third in the senior men's 100m in 11.14secs, and he also helped Hercules Wimbledon win the sprint relay.

Joseph Chukwuadinula won the 100m B race in 11.22secs before anchoring the relay team, to victory.

Hercules Wimbledon's sprinters also did well in the 200mm where Max Mondelli was runner-up in the A race in a personal best of 22.32secs, running into a slight headwind, while Theo Etienne also posted a lifetime best of 22.57secs in winning the B race.

Etienne's 200m effort came three days after he posted a lifetime 100m best time of 10.93secs in the Southern England Student Sports Association's Championshjips at Lee Valley, where he won bronze.

Hercules Wimbledon performed well on the track with Hamed Agboke winning the 400m A race and James Moorcroft, Nicholas Bland and Steve Bayton won the 800m, 1,500m, 5,000m B races.

Ben Toomer and David Harris also won the 3,000m steeplechase and 110m hurdles B races.

Rob Truer and Oliver Tresisi were second in the steeplechase and hurdles A races while Tresisi also won the long jump B and was third in the high jump and discus A.

Another winner was Ben Deuchar in the javelin B with Max Jacobs finishing second in the A competition.

Cassian Hyde and Fred Slemeck also finished runners-up in the 1,500 and 5,000m A races.