Epsom and Ewell has appointed three new honorary aldermen for outstanding service to the borough.

Former Councillors Keith Mann, Jonathon Reed and Ruby Smith have been awarded the position and is bestowed on former councillors who have, in the opinion of the council, rendered eminent services to the borough.

The last honorary alderman was appointed in 2008 and just 23 individuals have been honoured in this way by the council since 1976.

Mayor of Epsom and Ewell Councillor Sheila Carlson, said: "Conferring the title of honorary alderman is not just for people who have served on the council for a period of time and it is not granted to everyone.

"This honour, granted by their peers, is awarded to councillors who have dedicated their time and efforts, not just within the council but additionally in the community".

Honorary Alderman Keith Mann and Jonathon Reed were elected as councillors in 1991 and served for 20 years until May 2011, and Honorary Alderman Ruby Smith also served until May 2011, after being elected in 1995.