Bushy Park Parkrun celebrated its 12th birthday in style as 1,212 athletes completed the iconic 5km course on International Parkrun Day on Saturday.

Kingston AC & Polytechnic Harrier Neil Wellard, 18, had the honour of claiming victory – in 15 minutes 42 seconds – on the day that celebrates the birth of the worldwide movement on October 2, 2004.

Bushy Park debutant Lilly Coward, of Invicta East Kent Athletics Club, was the first woman home in 18:30.

Parkrun founder Paul Sinton Hewitt CBE was on hand to present the annual awards, which saw St Mary’s Richmond AC’s Mark Gratton, 39, claim the John Hanscomb Trophy in the annual parkrun awards for the leading male points scorer.

Ranelagh Harrier Sacha Kennedy, 14, was crowned the youngest recipient of the Sonia O’Sullivan Salver for the leading female points scorer.