Head coach Mark Mapletoft has made six changes to his England side to face Italy in the second round of the RBS U20 Six Nations at San Dona di Piave on Friday(6pm GMT).

Harlequins backs Rory Clegg and Sam Smith join and Tom Homer (London Irish), James Gaskell (Sale Sharks), Calum Green (Leicester Tigers) and Jamie Gibson (London Irish) in being recalled for the weekend's Guinness Premiership games.

Last year's IRB Junior World Championship finalists opened their account in tournament by running in five tries to beat Wales 41-14 at Gloucester.

Wing Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby) - a try-scorer against Wales - and centres Jonathan Joseph (London Irish) and Tom Casson (Saracens) are drafted into the backline.

Up front, Quins' Charlie Matthews and Danny Wright (Gloucester Rugby) form a new second row pairing, with Jackson Wray (Saracens) at number eight.

Wray takes over from Newcastle Falcons' Alex Gray, suspended for two weeks after his sending-off at Kingsholm for a stamping deemed "reckless rather than deliberate" by the Six Nations disciplinary committee.

There are two new faces on the bench in flanker George Kruis (Saracens) and wing Sam Edgerley (London Irish), the latter still a schoolboy at Wellington College.

Italy were beaten 39-0 in Ireland in the opening round but were testing opponents for England before going down 22-13 in Genoa in 2008 and 17-0 at Worcester last year.

"We've had a tough time against Italy recently and I'm sure they'll be smarting from their defeat in Ireland," said Mapletoft.

"It's challenging for us but we've had a lot of guys involved in our camps so far and they'll be up to speed with what we're trying to do and the way we want to play."


15 Tom Catterick (Newcastle Falcons) 14 Will Hurrell (Leicester Tigers) 13 Jonathan Joseph (London Irish) 12 Tom Casson (Saracens) 11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby) 10 Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby) 9 Sam Harrison (Leicester Tigers) 1 Joe Marler (Harlequins) 2 Jamie George (Saracens) 3 Shaun Knight (Gloucester Rugby) 4 Danny Wright (Gloucester Rugby) 5 Charlie Matthews (Harlequins) 6 Will Welch (Newcastle Falcons) 7 Jacob Rowan (Leeds Carnegie, captain) 8 Jackson Wray (Saracens)


16 Arthur Ellis (London Wasps) 17 Lee Imiolek (Sale Sharks) 18 Peter Elder (London Wasps) 19 George Kruis (Saracens) 20 Sam Stuart (Sedbergh & Harlequins) 21 Jake Sharp (Saracens) 22 Sam Edgerley (Wellington College & London Irish)