Head coach Peter Richards might have left it late, but he has completed his London Scottish re-build in time for Sunday’s Championship opening day trip to Nottingham.

The Athletic Ground chief signed tighthead props Dan Koroi and Ewan McQuillin on Wednesday as well as back row Matt Marley and full back Ben Rath to take the number of new exiles to 24 - plus four dual registered youngsters - for the coming season.

Only nine players from last year’s squad survived the chop over the summer with captain Mark Bright and hooker Adam Kwasnicki leading the 26-strong exodus.

Fiji international Koroi, who featured during last year’s World Cup, joins from Italian club Rugby Mogliano, while McQuillin has moved from Edinburgh Rugby where he worked under new Scottish forwards coach John Dalziel.

Rath, who scored five tries in 10 games for Rotherham Titans last term, has signed after a short trial, as has former Cardiff Blues academy youngster Marley.

England age-group trio of forwards Huw Taylor, Charlie Hewitt and Sam Ripper Smith will join on loan from Worcester Warriors, with Saracens prop Ralph Adams Hale also with the Scots on a dual registration deal.

“We’ve got a great bunch of players and the four new signings add extra quality to the squad,” said Richards.

“Dan and Ewan will bring experience and strength to our front-row, with Matt a real prospect in the back-row and Ben showing great skill to add to the back-line.

“We are very grateful for the dual registration players who will give us great options throughout the squad, and we can all look forward to our first match against Nottingham on Sunday.”

London Scottish 2016-17 squad changes:


Joe Atkinson (Cornish Pirates), Ifereimi Boladau (Ospreys), Phil Cringle (US Carcassonne), George Cullen (Oxford University), Jack Cullen (Munster Rugby), Cameron Fenton (Glasgow Warriors), Hugh Fraser (Edinburgh Rugby), Tom Galbraith (Edinburgh Rugby), Jonny Harris (London Irish), Ed Hoadley, Craig Holland (Cornish Pirates), Devlin Hope (Coventry), Danny Kenny (Ealing Trailfinders), Dom McGeekie, Ally Miller (Edinburgh Rugby), Ben Robbins (Edinburgh Rugby), Eoin Sheriff (London Irish), Grant Shiells (Edinburgh Rugby), Jamie Stevenson (Wasps), Dan Koroi (Rugby Mogliano), Ewan McQuillin (Edinburgh Rugby), Matt Marley, Connor Hayhow, Huw Taylor (Worcester Warriors), Charlie Hewitt (Worcester Warriors), Sam Ripper Smith (Worcester Warriors), Ralph Adams Hale(Saracens).


Peter Lydon, Rory Bartle, Neale Patrick, Jason Harries, Matt Williams, David Cherry, Robbie Fergusson, Alec Coombes, Harry Sheppard.

OUT: Mark Bright, Alex Brown, Josh Thomas Brown, Ben Calder, Will Carrick Smith, Freddie Clarke, Tinus du Plessis, James Gibbons, Oli Grove, James Hallam, Matt Heeks, Craig Jackson, Adam Kwasnicki, Jimmy Litchfield, Drew Locke, Max Maidment, Miles Mantella, Lee Millar, Tyrone Moran, Dan Newton, Evan Olmstead, Chevvy Pennycook, Kurt Schonert, Andrew Turner, Chris Walker and Russell Weir.