Suranne Jones and Rose Leslie are set to lead the cast in the latest thriller programme to air on the BBC, in series two of Vigil.

The first series proved to be hugely popular back when it was broadcast in 2021, and it followed DCI Amy Silva as she investigated a death on board the nuclear submarine HMS Vigil.

The second series will change the setting completely, with drone warfare being the focus of the story.

Speaking to the Radio Times creator Tom Edge said: "We explore a world of moral and political compromises, ethical disagreements and clashing institutional priorities.

"As with the first series, the meaning of 'loyalty' is a major theme. To whom or what do we owe our loyalty? Our loved ones, our conscience, the institution we serve, our country? How do we approach the duties that derive from these loyalties? And which legal and ethical boundaries might we have to transgress in order to fulfil them?"

BBC Vigil series 2 cast

  • Suranne Jones as DCI Amy Silva
  • Rose Leslie as DI Kirsten Longacre
  • Gary Lewis as DSU Robertson
  • Orla Russell as Poppy
  • Romola Garai as Eliza Russell
  • Dougray Scott as Marcus Grainger
  • Chris Jenks as Callum Barker
  • Anders Hayward as Colin Dixon
  • Shannon Hayes as Nicole Lawson
  • Oscar Salem as Captain Sattam Abdul Kader
  • Amir El-Masry as Daniel Ramsay
  • Jonathan Ajayi as Wes Harper

Your Local Guardian: Suranne Jones returns to the role of DCI Amy SilvaSuranne Jones returns to the role of DCI Amy Silva (Image: Jamie Simpson/BBC/World Productions)

  • Nebras Jamali as Colonel Ali Bilali
  • Alastair Mackenzie as Chapman
  • Hiba Medina as Sabiha Chapman
  • Noof Ousellam as DS Paul Townsend
  • Tommy Sim'aan as Firas Zaman
  • Steven Elder as Derek McCabe
  • Khalid Laith Nicole as Abdullah Ghazali
  • Kamal Mustaffai as Mutaz
  • David Elliot as Sutherland

When will Vigil series 2 air on TV?

The first episode of the second series of Vigil will air at 9pm on Sunday, December 10 on BBC One.

The second episode will then broadcast at 9pm on Monday, December 11 and the third at 9pm on Tuesday, December 12.

After that, the remaining three episodes will air on December 17,18 and 19 in the same time slot on the same channel.

Alternatively, the first three episodes will drop on BBC iPlayer at 6am on December 10 and the remaining three will become available on the service on December 17.