Nominations for candidates standing in this year's council elections ended this week.

By the midday deadline on Monday a total of 220 candidates had put their names forward to contest 70 council seats throughout the borough.

The Conservatives are contesting all seats, while Labour fight in 66. Liberal Democrats are standing in 37.

This year's elections on Thursday, May 4, are expected to be the closest for some time in Croydon.

Only a handful of seats are needed to change hands to allow Conservatives to take control of the town hall.

Waddon, which has seen visits by high-profile Labour Party figures including Prime Minister Tony Blair, is seen by many as a key ward.

Other political parties represented include the Green Party, UK Independence Party, Communist Party of Britain, British National Party, The People's Choice, Official Monster Raving Looney Party, Pensions Action Alliance, Croydon Ratepayers Against Croydon Council and an independent.

The vast majority of the 242,000 names on the electoral register will have the chance to vote for three councillors to represent their ward for the next four years. Fieldway and New Addington are the only wards where voters can only vote for two councillors.

A total of 147 venues across the borough have been booked as polling stations for the elections on May 4, these include church halls, schools, health centres and libraries.

For a full list of candidates and polling stations visit