Sarah Jones from Labour has held the Croydon Central seat, winning with 50.2 per cent of the votes and a majority of 5,949.

It was declared early on Friday morning that Jones will continue as Labour MP for the constituency after she received 27,124 votes.

The Conservative candidate, Mario Creatura, came in at second place on election night, receiving 21,175 votes.

He was followed by Simon Sprague of the Lib Dems in third place with 3,532 votes, and Green Party candidate Esther Sutton with 1,215 votes.

Brexit Party candidate Peter Sonnex received 999 votes.

Turnout was 66.4 per cent.