London will discover who will be the city's mayor for the next four years today as votes are counted from yesterday’s election.

Voters from across the capital took to polling stations yesterday to decide who will succeed Boris Johnson, who leaves after eight years at the helm.

The votes will be counted at City Hall today, with Your Local Guardian providing updates throughout with our live blog.

The results are expected to be announced this evening.

Labour’s Sadiq Khan is the clear favourite to take the keys to City Hall, with the final YouGov poll indicating that the Tooting MP is set to win by 14 percentage points.

He is expected to beat the Conservative Party’s Zac Goldsmith, who will be hoping that the Tories’ historic polling day surges will have bridged the gap.

They face competition from candidates including the Liberal Democrat Caroline Pidgeon, Green candidate Sian Berry and UKIP's Peter Whittle.

Elections also took place yesterday for the Greater London Authority, which has 25 members, with the results expected early this afternoon.

The assembly members are made up of constituency candidates, each member covering two boroughs, and list candidates, who 'top-up' the make-up of the assembly, to create a proportional system.