Three women who won the Wimbledon Championship singles title are finally to be made honorary freewomen of the borough - some fifty years after their achievements.

Virginia Wade took home the trophy in 1977, Anne Haydon-Jones in 1969 and Angela Mortimer Barrett in 1961, but all have gone unrecognised by Merton Council.

That was until Andy Murray made history this year by becoming the first male British player to have won the singles championship in 77 years.

Despite previous female victors going unnoticed, Andy Murray was immediately awarded the title on a unanimous vote prompting calls for Wimbledon's female champions to be recognised.

It was finally agreed at a council meeting on Wednesday, November 20, that all three would be awarded the honour.

To be made an honorary freewoman of borough is the highest honour the council can bestow and is only given to "persons of distinction" who have "rendered eminent services" to the borough.