Search for more Public Notices in your area

Notice of Designation of an area for Selective Licensing

Notice ID: BRA2333229

Notice effective from
18th February 2022 to 20th March 2022

Notice of Designation of an area for Selective Licensing
This notice is published in accordance with Section 80 to 84 of the Housing Act 2004 and Regulation 9 of the Licensing and Management of Houses in Multiple Occupation and Other Houses (Miscellaneous Provisions)(England) Regulations 2006 The County Council of Durham Designations of Areas for Selective Licensing 2021
The County Council of Durham in exercise of their powers under section 80 of the Housing Act 2004 ("the Act") HEREBY GIVES NOTICE that it designates for selective licensing the areas described in paragraph 4.
1. This designation may be cited as the County Council of Durham Designations of Areas for Selective Licensing 2021.

2. The designations were approved by the Cabinet for The County Council of Durham on 16 September 2020 and requires confirmation by the Secretary of State, Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities.

3. The Secretary of State confirmed on 30th November 2021 that the designations shall come into force on 1st April 2022 and shall cease to have effect five years after such date, namely 31st March 2027, or earlier if the Council revokes the scheme under Section 84 of the Act.

4. The designations shall apply to the following Lower Super Output Areas of the County Council of Durham and as shown shaded on the map attached to this notice at Annex A.

(d) The house is subject to a temporary exemption under section 86 of the Act; or

(e) The house is occupied under a tenancy or licence which is exempt under the Act4 or the occupation is of a building or part of a building so exempt as defined in The Selective Licensing of Houses (Specified Exemptions) (England) Order 2006 SI 20067370.

6. Subject to sub paragraphs 5(a) to (e) every house in the area specified in paragraph 4 that is occupied under a tenancy or licence shall be required to be licensed under section 85 of the Act5

7. The County Council of Durham will comply with the notification requirements contained in section 83 of the Act and shall maintain a register of all houses registered under this designation, as required under section 232 of the Act6

1 For the definition of "house" see sections 79 and 99 of the Act

2 Section 55 of the Act defines which Houses in Multiple Occupation are required to be licensed under the Act. See also The Licensing of Houses in Multiple Occupation (Prescribed Descriptions) (England) Order 2005 (SI 20067371)

3 Section 79 (3) of the Act. For the definition of a Registered Social Landlord see Part 1 of the Housing Act 1996

4 Section 79 (4) of the Act and SI 370/2006

5 Section 86 of the Act provides for certain temporary exemption. As to suitability see section 89. Note, if the house is not suitable to be licensed the Council must make an Interim Management Order - see section 102.
Section 232 of the Act and paragraph 11 of SI 373/2006
8. Upon the Designation coming into force any person who operates a licensable property without a licence or allows a licensed property to be occupied by more households or persons other than as authorised by the licence, is, pursuant to the provisions of Section 95(1) of the Act, liable to prosecution (and upon summary conviction to an unlimited fine), or a financial penalty not exceeding £30,000.

9. A person who breaches a condition of a licence shall either be liable to prosecution (and upon summary conviction to an unlimited fine), or a financial penalty not exceeding £30,000

10. Operating an unlicensed property may also lead to the Council, or a tenant, making an application to the First-tier Tribunal to obtain a Rent Repayment Order in respect of up to 12 months' rent or housing benefit monies paid.

11. The Council is also empowered to take control of unlicensed premises by making an Interim Management Order.

12. Furthermore, in relation to shorthold tenancies, no Section 21 notice may be served under the Housing Act 1988 in respect of an unlicensed property.

Applying for a licence should be made online at:

Maps of the designated areas are also available to view at the above website. Any landlord, managing agent or tenant within the Designated Areas of the County requiring further mtbrmation or advice should contact the Council's Selective Licensing Team on 03000 260000 or by email to

The Designation may be inspected during normal office hours at County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UQ and can be also obtained from the Council's website. Date: 3rd December 2021
December 2021
Helen Lynch Head of Legal & Democratic Services County Hall, Durham DH15UL
Annex A: Map showing the County Council of Durham Designations of Areas for Selective Licensing 2021
Designation One
Chester Central 2 Consett South Consett West Havannah South Leadgate North Leadgate Central Kelloe Waterhouses Blackball Rocks North
Designation Two
Catchgate North Murton Central Passfield North
Designation Three
Moorside West
Annfield Plain Stanley Hall North Stanley Hall West Craghead North Pelton North Pelton Fell Chester West 2
Dawdon South 2 Haswell Horden South West Cornforth Stanley Crook Tow Law Rural Dalton Park Murton East South Hetton East
Ferryhill Dean Bank South Sunnybrow
Shildon West
Cockton Hill East
Cockton Hill North
Henknowle North
Tow Law Central
Eden Hill North
Acre Rigg North Acre Rigg South Eden Hill South Eden Hill Central Dene House Central Dene House East Blackball Colliery North
Woodham Village South West West North West Central West South Middridge South Thickley Shildon East Woodhouse Close South
Low Spennymoor Middlestone Moor Willington Central Crook East Esh Winning Ushaw Moor East Bearpark
Murton Moor & South Hetton Blackhall Rocks South
Dalton le Dale Dawdon South 1 Seaham Harbour South Easington Colliery South Horden North Horden West Howletch East
Designation Four
New Kyo
South Moor North
South Moor Central South Moor South Grange Villa Easington Colliery North Easington Colliery Central Horden Central Horden East
Passfield East Shotton East Shotton Colliery Central Wingate West Wheatley Hill South Trimdon South
Blackhall Colliery South
Wheatley Hill North
Station Town Deaf Hill Sunnydale New Shildon Henknowle South West Auckland East Dawdon North 2
Ferryhill South & Station
Ferryhill Dean Bank North
Spennymoor Central Coundon South Coundon Grange Eldon Toronto
Crook Central 2
5. This designation applies to any house1 which is let or occupied under a tenancy or licence within the area described in paragraph 4 unless -
(a) The house is a house in multiple occupation and is required to be licensed under Part 2 of the Act2;

(b) The tenancy or licence of the house has been granted by a registered social landlord3;

(c) The house is subject to an Interim or Final Management Order under Part 4 of the Act;


BRA2333229.pdf Download

Durham County Council

County Hall , Durham , County Durham , DH1 5UL 03000 26 0000


or Register to leave a comment and/or receive comment alerts.

Related notices