New honourary aldermen for Epsom and Ewell

New honourary aldermen for Epsom and Ewell

New honourary aldermen for Epsom and Ewell

First published in Epsom

Epsom and Ewell has appointed three new honorary aldermen for outstanding service to the borough.

Former Councillors Keith Mann, Jonathon Reed and Ruby Smith have been awarded the position and is bestowed on former councillors who have, in the opinion of the council, rendered eminent services to the borough.

The last honorary alderman was appointed in 2008 and just 23 individuals have been honoured in this way by the council since 1976.

Mayor of Epsom and Ewell Councillor Sheila Carlson, said: "Conferring the title of honorary alderman is not just for people who have served on the council for a period of time and it is not granted to everyone.

"This honour, granted by their peers, is awarded to councillors who have dedicated their time and efforts, not just within the council but additionally in the community".

Honorary Alderman Keith Mann and Jonathon Reed were elected as councillors in 1991 and served for 20 years until May 2011, and Honorary Alderman Ruby Smith also served until May 2011, after being elected in 1995.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree