The Conservatives have been backed by voters in Elmbridge in the Surrey County Council elections.

The Conservatives maintained a big majority, winning 61 of 81 divisions across Surrey, increasing their number of seats by three, while UKIP was wiped out.

In opposition the Liberal Democrats held on to their nine seats, and Labour and the Greens retained one division apiece.

Four residents’ association councillors and four independent councillors also won seats in the elections.

Mike Bennison saw him a close challenge by Liberal Democrat Alastair Coombes to hold onto his seat in Hinchley Wood, Claygate & Oxshott by 126 seats.

In Walton South & Oatlands, Councillor Tony Samuels comfortably held onto his seat, while fellow Tory Mary Lewis retained her Cobham seat.

The Conservatives' Timothy Oliver has also won comfortably in Weybridge, replacing the outgoing Tory Ramon Gray.

Tory Rachel Lake retained her seat in Walton division, seeing off Christine Elmer, a former Conservative who defected to the Liberal Democrats.

Conservative Peter Szanto unseated the local residents' association group to win in East Molesey & Esher division, and Tory John O'Reilly won Hersham to replace the outgoing Margaret Hicks.

And in The Dittons, Nick Darby from the Dittons and Weston Green Residents group received more votes than all the other candidates combined.

Another resident councillor, Ernest Mallett of the West Molesey Residents' Association, held onto his seat, seeing off Conservative Steve Bax.

Elsewhere, council leader David Hodge held onto his seat in Warlingham, Labour’s only candidate Robert Evans retained Stanwell & Stanwell Moor and Liberal Democrat leader Hazel Watson won in Dorking Hills.

David Colin Bellchamber, Liberal Democrats – 679
Lana Victoria Hylands, Labour – 254
Elaine Linda Kingston, UKIP – 175
Mary Anne Lewis, Conservative – 2290

Turnout 33%​

Nick Darby, Dittons and Weston Green Residents – 2515

Gerard Doherty, Liberal Democrats – 724
Bruce Andrew Finch, Conservative – 1001
Rosemary Jane Rendall, Labour – 201

Turnout 38%

Elizabeth Gillian Cooper, Esher and Molesey Residents’ Associations – 1149
Laura Jayne Harmour, Green Party – 102
Raymond Anthony Kelly, Labour – 159
Trevor Gregory Marshall, UKIP – 66
Paul Terence Nagle, Liberal Democrats – 318
Peter Jacob Szanto, Local Conservatives – 2095

Turnout 40%

Roy Green, Hersham Village Society – 981
John O’Reilly, Local Conservatives – 2146
Olivia Joy Palmer, Green Party – 230
Peter Adrian Ramsbottom, Labour – 296
Michael Ross Smith, Liberal Democrats – 287

Turnout 38%

Mike Bennison, Conservative – 2395

Bernard Michael Collignon, UKIP – 157
Alastair Coomes, Liberal Democrats – 2269

Turnout 40%

Chris Elmer, Liberal Democrats – 753
David Williams Ions, UKIP – 257
Rachael Isabel Lake, Conservative – 1813
Richard John Leonard, Labour – 620

Turnout 30%

Adriana Dredge, Liberal Democrats – 862
Simon Anthony Kadwill-Kelly, UKIP – 194
Tony Samuels, Conservative – 2351
Warren Weertman, Labour – 378

Turnout 34%

Jamal Ajjane, Labour – 264
Steve Bax, Conservative – 1201
Ernest Mallett, The Molesey Residents Association – 1763
Sarah Elizabeth Spencer-Bowdage, Green Party – 142
Alastair Graham Russell Sturgis, Liberal Democrats – 194

Turnout 35%

Stephanie Claire Franklin, Labour – 222
Vicki Macleod, Liberal Democrats – 1492
Timothy Gerald Oliver, Conservative – 2069
Timothy Patrick Pope, UKIP – 180
Lesley Ann Tilling, Green Party – 156

Turnout 36%

More to follow.