A children's author, a theatre's artistic director and a school caretaker have received gongs in the New Year's Honours List.

Kingston author Jacqueline Wilson was made a Dame in the New Year's Honours List for her outstanding contribution to literature.

Former world cross country runner Grenville Tuck who has spent the last 19 years as caretaker of Coombe Hill Infant and Junior School has been awarded an MBE for services to education.

And Wandsworth's Ian Talbot, who spent 20 years as artistic director of the Open Air Theatre in Regent's Park was honoured with an OBE for his services to drama.

Dame Jacqueline, 61, was awarded an OBE in 2002 and has been the Children's Laureate, has sold more than 20million books in the UK. Talking last year at the launch of her autobiography, Jacky Daydream, Jacqueline said of her success: "It is surreal but it becomes second nature after a while. "I'll never become blasé about it, though, because very few people actually achieve their childhood ambition and it's just so fantastic to have become a writer." Mr Tuck, 57, was honoured for ensuring the maintenance of the his school's sports fields and buildings.

He has helped run many of the school's sports clubs and drives the minibus on trips and outings.

"It is a really nice feeling to be recognised like this for the work I have done. I love my job and treat it as so much more than a nine-to-five and that's why everyone at the school put me forward for the honour," he said.

He has helped establish a thriving cross-country club at both schools, passing on the knowledge he gained running for Great Britain in the 1970s, along with his twin brother Graham.

Also honoured was John Azah for his services to community relations through his role as vice-chairman of the Independent Advisory Group of the Met Police.

He was so shocked to hear of the honour he had to check it was true before speaking to reporters.

He said: "I feel totally, totally privileged. "I want to dedicate this firstly to my parents who would have been blown away to know that so many years ago my journey would take me here.

"I also want to dedicate it to my two lovely children as this work took me away from them for several years and now they might realise how important it is.

"It's also for the community who do not get acknowledged and so we are fighting on their behalf."

South west London's New Year's Honours List

  • Mrs Jacqueline Wilson, OBE, for services to literature.
  • Alexander Flockhart from Burgh Heath, Epsom. For services to British business and charitable interests in Mexico.
  • Mark Goldring from Richmond Honoured for services to disadvantaged people.
  • Robert John Green from Thames Ditton. For services to children, schools and families.
  • Mrs Claire Ighodaro from Weybridge. For services to business.
  • Kingston's Professor David For services to healthcare.
  • John Azah, Worcester Park. For services to community relations in London.
    Michael Anthony Cairns from Weybridge. For services to heritage.
  • Sutton's Paul Lincoln. For services to healthcare.
  • Professor Kasturi Arachchi Ariya Saman Warnakulasuriya from Wallington. For services to medicine.
  • Callton Lloyd Young from Purley. Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs director of Sustainability and Competitiveness, Food and Drink Federation.
  • Robert Ashley Blackman from Purley. Lately head of senior management overseas liaison section in the Home Office.
  • Morden's Sheila Eden. For services to healthcare.
  • Francis Egerton from Wallington. Lately opera singer. For services to music.
  • Michael Flockhart from Burgh Heath. For services to the police.
  • Esher's Ms Susan Geddes for work in the Prime Minister's office.
  • Mrs Margaret Hayward from Worcester Park for services to the National Back Pain Association.
  • John O'Sullivan from Richmond. Communications advisor for the Cabinet Office.
  • Grenville Tuck, Kingston, for services to education.
  • New Malden's Nigel Wolland for services to the film industry.
  • Michael Harris from Wandsworth. For public service.
  • Dr Felicity Harvey from Wandsworth. Director of medicines pharmacy and industry group, Department of Health.
  • Timothy Stephen Gbedemah from Wandsworth. For public service.
  • Wandsworth's Deborah Goodwin for services to the community and to education.
  • Diana Grahame, from Wandsworth. For charitable services.
  • Wandsworth's Ian Talbot for services to drama.
  • Martin Mills from Wandsworth for services to the music industry.
  • Reverend Amy Powell for services to the community in Wandsworth.
  • Mrs Pauline Rayner from Wandsworth for services to sport.
  • Frederick Seaward from Wimbledon for services to sport.